Nowadays, we are producing more and more rubbish Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help to reduce the amoung of rubbish produced?

It is observed that there has been a colossal upsurge in wastage all across the world because of increased consumerism; however, this situation can be controlled if ruling authorities take pertinent actions to reduce waste. In this day and age, most people have sedentary lifestyles which can give birth to increased litter in their bins. To be more specific, due to their hectic schedules, they either buy packaged food wrapped up in plastic instead of cooking in a conventional way or they visit restaurants where meals and drinks are often offered in plastic containers, which are non-biodegradable, resulting in more rubbish across all the trash cans. To illustrate, the waste percentage in Canada has exponentially increased in the last few years which is a daunting task to tackle with. Nevertheless, this problem cannot be overcome unless the government takes unprecedented steps to alleviate this. The state authorities can restrict the use of plastic by putting limits on the production of plastic for each manufacturing corporation, and if any company overrides these restrictions, it should be charged with stringent punishment such as fines and imprisonment. Moreover, the public should be made aware of the consequences of using plastic items, which cannot be recyclable, through awareness rallies. To illustrate, in India, the environment ministry spends a significant amount of funds on advertisements to use recyclable material for daily usage rather than disposable ones which is often endorsed by film stars to make an immediate and effective impact on viewers. To conclude, even though waste management is going beyond the control because of increased rubbish each year, this hindrance can be mitigated if the government raises awareness among the community and puts restrictions on profit-generating companies.