It has been suggested that all young adults should be required to undertake a period of unpaid work helping in the community. What are the benefits and drawback of such a requirement to the community and the young adults?

There is a belief that the young generation must undertake a period of unpaid work helping in the community. It is believed that there are many pros and cons related to this in relation to community and young adults. I will discuss both the views in the following paragraphs. To begin with, the younger generation of any country is their future and to make them more responsible it is believed that they all must work at a young age without taking any salary in return so that they can understand the value of the same. For example, when a person works somewhere without taking anything in return he is there only to learn a new skill or collect experience for future use. As a result, when facing the real world and job he is a step ahead of the people who work for the very first time because of his experience. On the other hand, there few disadvantages to work like this as one does not gain anything in return and sometimes it becomes difficult for the young ones to even commute to their work place because of lack of money. In addition, they also devote most of their time at their office and due to that they are not able to spend quality time with their loved ones. Consequently, children sometimes even feel depressed and stressed out due to excess work pressure. To conclude, I would say that there are always two sides to everything and one must need to learn how to balance both. And most importantly the work done should turn up in such a way that it benefits both the children as well as the society.