In many cities, problems related to overpopulation are becoming more common. Some governments are now encouraging businesses and individuals to move out of cities to rural areas. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays most of the cities in the world experience problems related to overpopulation. To solve this issue governments try to stimulate businesses and individuals to move to the urban areas. In my opinion, the potential benefits of this case outweigh the drawbacks. Firstly, I will demonstrate how this trend decreases the amount of pollution and noise in the cities, then the main disadvantage of making people suffer from easy access to advanced technology and transportation facilities and employment opportunities. The foremost advantage of encouraging some groups to move out of cities is that the amount of pollution will decrease. As the cities become less populated, the degree of damage that people cause to water, air, and land will eventually reduce. The amount of car usage will also decrease and there will be less traffic, consequently people will lose little time due to traffic. The amount of carbon emission to air, the vast amount of dirty garbage that pollutes the water will also decrease. Because of less pollution to the environment, the cities will become more habitable places to live. Additionally, because the less recourses will be needed for the decreased population, the economic and natural recourses could be used mor effectively and efficiently. The research conducted by US Government Agency in the USA shows that the main reason of pollution in the cities is that the level of population is more than their normal capacities. As a result of this problem, inefficiency and damage to nature increase day by day. There are certain disadvantages of encouraging some groups of people to accommodate to less populated urban places. The major disadvantage is less access of migrated people to advanced technology, comfortable transportation, high level education systems and etc. Because, nowadays, most of the advanced facilities are located in densely populated areas, the urban places are lack by these facilities. Another drawback for businesses is that the demand of their product could fall as a result of a low level of population. Less people mean fewer consumers and fewer consumers mean less demand. Moreover, due to falling demand for their products, the companies will start to decrease their production and their employees. As a result, The Unemployment rate will increase in these places. A survey which was conducted among people who moved from city centers to urban places suggests that, most of these people are complaining about quality of transportation and education systems. In conclusion, in my opinion, although there are some drawbacks of encouraging certain people to locate in less populated areas, however, the benefits definitely outweigh them in terms of reduced pollution and efficient use of resources.