Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, the usage of smartphones by children has increased considerably, spending on them numerous hours per day. There are many reasons that may cause this trend, but the most important ones are technological developments related to audiovisual devices and the high exposure to social media. Even if smartphones brought ease in communications, I consider that exposing children to the influence of these kinds of devices may have very negative effects on their personal development and social skills. To begin with, technological advances in audiovisual devices caused critical changes and improvements in the way that human beings communicate and interact with each other. There is nothing wrong with it. However, excessive usage of these devices by children creates overstimulation which implies addictive conduct. For instance, many statistics have proved that children between 4 and 8 years of age who spend around 4 hours on their smartphones have developed more anxiety and attention disorders. To sum up, spending many daily hours on these devices does not contribute to their health and well-being. Besides this, there is a current trend in which children communicate with each other through social media, which also impacts negatively on their social skills development. For example, teachers have reported that their young students do not interact with their pairs as pupils of their age used to do it. There is evidence that they have been using their smartphones more than expected, being more interested in chatting through Apps like What’s Up, Instagram or Facebook. In addition to this, children have become more worried about their physical appearance as they follow many YouTubers and singers who show a certain fashion looking as the only one that is right in society. Because of this, activities such as playing games and singing childhood songs decreased its popularity, ruining their face-to-face interaction. In conclusion, excessive usage of smartphones by children is directly related to technological advances over decades which created at the same time huge advances in social media, making them more addictive to consume. In this case, we cannot deny that smartphone creation implicated great improvements. However, if it is used by children for many hours every day will probably harm their childhoods, creating more anxiety and decreasing their social skills, which is why I believe that this is a beneficial development for humankind but a very negative one for children if their usage is not restricted.