Some people think that schools are too competitive and that this has a negative impact on children. Others believe the competitive environment encourages children to achieve. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It is believed that to make a child excel in life one needs to create a competitive environment in his surroundings so that he can achieve success. But few people are of the view that schools are too competitive and this has a negative impact on children and some individuals believe that it is good to create a competitive environment to encourage children to achieve goals. In the following,paragraphs I will discuss both these views along with my opinion. To begin with, the concept of schooling was created so that children of the same age can learn and grow together. Furthermore, an educational institution creates an environment among students where they desire to achieve more and perform better than others while teachers try to maintain a healthy competition between them. For example, when an exam is conducted during a class on the topics that were discussed in the previous lectures so as to judge the grasping power of the kids and find out who needs more attention depending upon their answers. As a result, schools try to focus on enhancing the skills of children and competition is just a criterion that is followed by them to get good results. On the other hand, when a teacher becomes biased towards a particular child or group of children and focuses only on intelligent ones then this becomes a big problem. Moreover, a teacher or a school are the guiding and supporting pillars in one's life and they must provide knowledge and education apart from creating a bad environment which makes children depressed and scared of the school. And schools need to focus on making a child a better person by providing the best. To conclude, I would say that it depends on the higher authorities of any institution how well they are handling things to provide the best environment to children and kids are not scared of unfair competition. In my opinion, competitive spirit should be inculcated in each child at a very young age so that they can excel in life.