One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?”

It is often held that the expansion of humans’ longevity occurs due to an enhanced healthcare system. From my viewpoint, it is limpid that the downsides of this evolution prevail over the advantages. This essay will discuss both perspectives and argue in favour of the drawbacks. On the one hand, such development is beneficial for several reasons, a noteworthy one being ethic and traditional values. Indeed, humans are social creatures and, therefore, ensuring people have the capacity to prolong their lifespan might result in more families being brought back together and strengthened blood ties. For example, it is no secret that the advantages of life extension go far beyond health-related ones. Being healthy for longer implies living for longer, which signifies more time to dedicate to your passions and interests, to spend with your loved ones, and to learn new things. On the other hand, the continual rise of life expectancy has a great chance of resulting in the phenomenon of overpopulation. Such an occurrence is extremely detrimental, especially for the less well off. Undoubtedly, the world we live in is struggling with a great number of issues, one of the main being world hunger. For instance, if global population grows, so does the need for food. Hence, nourishment deficiency rates for the poor will skyrocket. To conclude, it is true to say that prolonged longevity has its own unique benefits and disadvantages. While some people might be in favour of such development, in my opinion, the detrimental effects are more pronounced.