Nowadays governments are investing more in public transport such as buses and trains rather than in building new roads. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

As a result of limited land, governments in many countries chose to improve public transport systems such as buses and train facilities, instead of building new roads. Although, providing more roads in the city may resolve heavy traffic in some areas, I firmly believe that the benefits of enhancing public transport systems outweigh the downsides. To begin with, providing reliable and better public transport will tremendously benefit the city in many ways. First, it can reduce traffic jams in many areas. People will likely commute by bus or local trains, when these facilities are easy to access, cheap, and comfortable. As a result, the number of cars on the road is reduced, therefore, easing the traffic. On top of that, the air quality in cities with reliable public transport will improve, as emissions from cars lower. A recent survey shows that Surabaya which is one of the biggest cities in Indonesia has a very low pollution index, which is indicated by green colour, whereas the neighbouring cities like Malang and Gresik have a very high pollution index. I believe that, this is mainly correlated with the reliable public transport that Surabaya has. Further advantages of improving public transport are efficiency and humanity aspects. Unlike building new roads that is likely to destroy trees and relocate houses, investing in public transport will have a limited effect on the environment and is very unlikely to relocate people's houses. Indeed, the first option would be much preferable to the second as it is cheaper and more friendly to the public. In conclusion, despite the benefit that may be gained from building new roads, I vehemently believe that the positives of improving public transport supersede the drawbacks.