Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Owing to the hectic lifestyle, many people are inclined to have junk food rather than have healthy food. A colossal amount of produced food and beverages consist of high levels of sugar which can be triggered peoples’ health. This can be mitigated by increasing the price of those items. I agree with the given phenomenon, since sugar is the main root of premature death and many diseases such as cardiovascular diseases. However, the sugary industry’s revenue cannot be neglected. There are two major reasons why sweet products in danger for people, namely to cause diseases and premature death. Firstly, there are many restaurants which sell numerous fast food. Those consist of the high level of sugar and it directly influence peoples’ health. For instance, a recent research which was held by the ministry of health in Sri Lanka, revealed that approximately 78% of people got cardiovascular diseases due to their unhealthy food patterns. Secondly, nowadays, there is a significant number of premature death. The main reason for this pressing concern is, high level of sugary consumption. For instance, according to a study which has been published by medical authorities in the USA, especially two-third of reason for premature death was, consumption of sweet food and beverages. Therefore, it is clear that sugary production should be alleviated. On the other hand, the sweet food and drink manufacturing industry’s earnings cannot be neglected. Because it helps to boost the economy of the country. Another reason is, there are many employees and if they lose their jobs they cannot survive. For example, over 30% of individuals work in the food industry in Sri Lanka. Hence, elimination of sugary industry from the country, will definitely brings about socio-economic crisis. In conclusion, sugary food and beverages brings about so many negative ramifications for society and by increasing its prices it can be alleviated. I agree with the given statement due to diseases and premature death. It is recommended that the government should conduct public awareness programs to protect individuals.