Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In this technological era, children have used cell phones most of the time. There are several reasons behind this issue and it has lots of pros and cons for their lives. In this essay, I am going to explain the primary reasons and I assert negatives outweigh the positives. In this wise age, everything is linked with social media and it is free to use for everyone. This is the main reason, children have a lot of time and can easily access the wifi or internet to use social media such as Facebook, Instagram, and TickTock. Through these applications, they can talk, send their images, and make posts. For example, if you have your own Facebook you can post many things as you wish and receive likes and comments. Furthermore, it may lead to addiction and they can not live without using it, however, social media has several other drawbacks such as time wasting and they do not have enough time to complete their assignments or work. On the other hand, the second cause, children have access to download pieces of music, games, and movies to their cell phones. Through it, they listen to music, play games, as well as watching movies. In addition, they are used as a tool for learning, such as learning new languages. Therefore, they spend a lot of time on their mobile phones. We can say that nowadays, mobile phones are one of the main entertainment, while, it has various negative points such as, they become unsocial and they do not have enough time to spend with their friends. Furthermore, they are far from improving their practical life skills. In conclusion, it is clear that most children spend lots of their time just using mobile phones as entertainment or as a learning tool, however, the negatives outweigh than positives.