The government should spend more money on medical research to protect citizen health rather than on protecting the environment. Do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, public opinions remain divided on whether funding should be allocated to the healthcare system instead of environmental protection or not. While I support government spending on the environment, the importance of human well-being is undeniable. On the one hand, admittedly, clinical research provides a variety of valuable merits for human health. This is predicated on medical studies that are carried out by researchers, resulting in the advent of new medical therapies and new drugs that can save millions of lives. To use a typical example, while we were facing the terrible threats of the COVID-19 pandemic, the invention of COVID-19 vaccines was a scientific triumph that cut the disease's death toll by 63% during their first year. No doubt, it is highly advisable for the authorities to invest in clinical studies that play a significant role in our wellness On the other hand, it is necessary for organizations and governments notice to the ever-increasing environmental hazards that detrimentally affect human well-being. We should recognize the fact that the ecosystem has enormous impacts on medicine as environmental degradation is the primary culprit of illness. For instance, exposure to air pollution can lead to a wide range of diseases, including stroke, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, trachea, bronchus and lung cancers. Hence, steps should be taken to address this issue. The authority ought to impose laws in order to manage the number of pollutants and individuals should take action to protect the environment by using environmentally - friendly products, reusing and recycling as much as possible. Taking everything into consideration, medical research should be appreciated because of its benefits for the community. However, it seems to me that environmental preservation is more imperative, and I deem that our awareness of protecting the ecosystem can have advantages.