In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing, do this trend have positive or negative effects on society.

Driven by the improvement of healthcare and scientific advancements, people are able to live longer than before, which therefore steadily elevates the proportion of senior citizens in many countries. From my perspective, the trend exerts a more negative influence on our society, which requires active measures to grapple with the severe problem. On the one hand, both individuals and community can benefit from the increasing number of the elderly. For one thing, residents are able to enjoy more family happiness, thanks to the longer expectancy. For example, most people in the past were unable to see their grandsons and granddaughters grow up because of lethal illnesses and developed medical service, which is not uncommon nowadays in our neighbourhoods, thus making us feel fulfilled and satisfied. For another, some old people can devote themselves to their careers for a long time, especially scientists and technicians, who can work longer so that make greater contributions to society. On the other hand, there are many drawbacks to the rising proportion of the elderly. To begin with, living longer means that a great deal of individuals have to suffer from many painful diseases, such as cancer and cardiovascular illnesses, which cannot place a heavy financial burden on families but consume a large number of societal resources, such as medical care, nursing and so on. Furthermore, the government has to face a dilemma that the more spending it demands and the less revenue it reaps since the growth of life expectancy makes it impossible to gain more taxes but it needs to take more public funds and effort on senior citizens. As a result, it would decrease the outgoings on infrastructure and other important issues, thus lowering the living standard of the country as a whole. In conclusion, although we can enjoy much happiness and satisfaction from the prolonged life expectancy, we should not ignore the problems resulting from it, which may do more harm than good to our society.