Some people think that a huge amount of time and money is spent on the protection of wild animals and that this money could be better spent on the human population. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In recent years, whether spending money and time on saving wild animals or on populations living in the poorest areas, has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although this trend bears some drawbacks, I believe that the benefits of spending on the poor outweigh the drawbacks. Admittedly, from an environmentalist’s perspective, funding expense to save wild animals is extremely necessary and justifiable. This means that they play a significant role in a balanced ecosystem. All animals are connected in one way or another in food chains. For this reason, when an animal overpopulation or underpopulation leads to the brink of extinction, The natural balance will be disrupted, and ecosystems cannot be sustained. For example, in 2019, a large bushfire occurred in Australia, that killed more than five hundred thousand species, including koalas which are on the verge of extinction and listed in the conservation list. As a result, it seriously affects the food chains of other species, such as dogs, cats, etc. On the other hand, from a poor inhabitant's level, the economic development of humans in poverty-stricken areas is more important and urgent. In fact, in order to protect wildlife, we must improve the quality of people's lives. By improving the infrastructure, paying attention to health and education, and solving the unemployment of the people, the country's economy can be ensured. From there, we will have money to spend on other things. For example, the financial crisis in Venezuela in 2013 led to the deterioration of the population's lives there. Therefore, their government has prioritized the budget to meet the basic demands of the citizens before other issues. In conclusion, with the convincing argument mentioned above, it is extremely necessary to protect wildlife or develop the country's economy. But in my opinion, we should prioritize spending money and time on people's needs to develop their lives.