Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Modern days with the shift of lifestyle and priorities, many prefer to have children at a later age. It is uncommon to see women give birth at the age of 18, usually is after 30 years old. Studies has shown there are several factors contribute to this trend, from higher living standards, different life priorities, and parents choose to be more emotionally prepared. In this essay the factors will be discussed followed with my opinion on this. As the world develops, living standards have become higher. Consequently, this increases living expense. In order to make sure children gets a decent tertiary education many parents start saving for their children education fund early. This, is only a tip of the ice berg as children will incur other expense such as food, medical, clothes, etc. Adding up all these, many modern young couples have family planning and priorities on reaching stable financial situation before having children. This is an inevitable impact as the economy grows and people try to make more money for a comfortable life. Secondly, as society becomes more educated, both men and women spend longer time in formal education. By the time university students graduate, they are on average 25 years old. Some of the more ambitious ones will choose to focus on their personal goal or career accomplishment before settling down on forming a family. One thing leads to another, couples choose to get married late will eventually starting the parenthood journey late. Another key factor on why people choose to have children late is they prefer to be more matured, emotionally and mentally before their children come along. This is because many view having children as a enormous task in life, it involves a lot of coaching to the young ones and setting their future path correctly. Hence, they prefer to take longer time for preparation. In summary, there are benefits as well as downsides of having children late. In my opinion, it brings more advantageous as it allows parents to be better prepared in terms of financial and emotional stability. It benefits both the parents and children.