Many people believe that countries should produce food for all population eats and import food as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Vegan is one of the diets that gained significant popularity lately, especially among the health conscious individuals. Aside to saying no to meat, vegan is one step further of not eating animal related food produce such as milk, butter, etc. This is the reason many perceive vegan as healthier and the trend is here to stay. In my opinion, vegan is not the most beneficial diets and the reasons will be discussed further. Firstly, human being is omnivores by nature. This means we obtain essential nutrients by eating a wide range of food. For example meat, not only it is a good source of protein, it has complex vitamin B and minerals. Eating high protein plant such as chickpeas, tofu might seem as ideal replacement to meat however it is not apples to apples comparison as animal protein are more complex. Sticking to a highly restrictive diet causes one to lose essential vitamins that are much required for our body to function properly. In the long term, this could even have adverse impacts to our health. As some of the main food options are being removed, consumers will look for alternatives. A classic example would be drinking plant-based milk instead of actual cow’s milk. Supermarket shelves are mushrooming with oat milk, almond milk, soy bean milk, etc. Though the food companies promote these milk as healthier options to cow’s milk, the fact is they are often loaded with additives and chemicals to have more appealing taste. Prolonged consumption of chemical additives is no doubt bad for our body. Not to mention, alternative foods are usually priced higher, this is a psychology trick to consumers that these food are better. However, there’s always to two side to a coin. There are some undeniable benefits of vegan diet as animal farming produces tonnes of greenhouse gases. These gases trap heat in the air and contributes to global warming which ultimately destroy our living environment. Besides that, as more and more people opt for vegan diet, food companies might shift from farming animals to growing crops which is more environmental friendly. In conclusion, I disagree with vegan diets benefits human being the most as there are some obvious drawbacks about it. To reap the most fruit, one could choose to be on vegan diets on part-time basis. This approach will balance out the advantages and disadvantageous of being a vegan.