Traditions are about the past and innovation is about the future, and it has been argued that we need to let go of traditions for the sake of progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

Nowadays there are ongoing controversies about the role of traditions with so many people claiming that they deter development. I personally do not entirely accept this, and I will explain why in this essay. Firstly, it seems that tradition is an inherent part of our lives and letting it go means the loss of our sense of belonging to the nation we are in. For instance, the Malays in Malaysia frequently gathered and held feasts to celebrate weddings, the birth of new babies and even the anniversary of the death of family members. Therefore, the decline in social connectedness might be one of the consequences if traditions are forgotten. Additionally, cultural heritage is the fabric of society, which holds the nation together harmoniously. It appears that if tradition was not preserved, social tension and disharmony would cause riots and violence that threatened the peace in a country. Finally, those who support this also highlight those traditions that hold one belief and identity leading to an increase in one’s sense of worth. For example, in a country like Japan, their love for the nation contributed to the sense of altruism. This is of paramount importance to foster self-growth and perseverance of an individual hence further enhancing nation-building. Perhaps one of the arguments by those who oppose this idea is tradition might impair one’s personal achievement through limitation on adaptation to new circumstances or challenges leading to stagnation. However, culture, too, is not fixed and could adapt to current knowledge and findings leading to more mindful customs and practices. To conclude it appears that tradition is of paramount importance to maintain individual prime values and social unity provided it is practised responsibly with updated knowledge.