New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

The advancement of technologies has transformed our lives in many ways. Even for young children, most of them spend their leisure time on watching videos, browsing internet, or playing video games. There are some distinctive advantages and disadvantages of this development, I believe ultimately parents do play a pivotal role in making sure their children reaps the most benefits of technologies advancement. On the good side, the internet is full of information and knowledge. Apart from formal education in school, children get more exposure from the internet and this effectively widens their general knowledge. For example, aside of the common subjects in school, from the internet children can learn about foreign languages, new cultures, etc. This means during leisure time, children are picking up new information which could fuel their curiosity. While in the long term, continuous learning becomes a habit for children. On the flip side, spending too much time in the virtual world means lesser social interaction with others. A common issue among young children these days is they prefer to browse the internet on smart gadgets than spending time with their friends. Losing social interaction could lead to feeling of isolation and this will cause adverse impacts on children ’s’ emotional well-being. In addition, sitting down long hour with smart gadgets can make children become lazy and physically unfit. Ultimately, it might impact their body because childhood is an essential period for muscles development in the body. In my opnion, the advantages do not outweigh the disadvantages because losing social skills and being unhealthy are detrimental to overall life satisfaction. The key is to strike a balance between making full use of technology and creating healthy environment for children to grow up with both emotional and physical well-being. For example, parents could limit the time children spend on smart gadget and encourage them to play with other children instead. In conclusion, the internet will continue to transform human lives and in the case of children, parents have full responsibilities in making sure the advantageous and disadvantageous of this development are well-balanced.