There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As the whole world becomes a global village, the burden on kids to achieve success is surging. As a consequence, a few individuals argue that youth can focus more on main subjects if extracurricular subjects like physical education and cookery must be eliminated. I partially agree with this notion because non-academic subjects also play a vital role in young one’s life. To begin with, the first and foremost reason for the importance of extracurricular courses is that they can help children to learn new skills in life. If children study physical education then they can also get information regarding their health. Moreover, they can become physically as well as mentally fit. By learning cookery, youth can learn the skills which can be helpful to them in preparing food. As a consequence, they will avoid eating unhealthy and junk food outdoors. For example, an article was published in the newspaper “ The Times Of Hindustan” in which it was clearly stated that most health issues are arising by eating unhygienic food. If children learn about cooking they can tackle this issue. On the other hand, there are some causes due to which physical education and cookery should be removed from the syllabus. Firstly, kids are studying a large number of subjects which are a mandatory part of their syllabus. The weight of the bags on their shoulders is more than their own weight. So, if they also learn non-academic subjects, it can put more burden on them. As a result, they cannot concentrate on their main courses and it can affect them mentally as well as physically. For instance, a survey was conducted in which 70 per cent of people agreed on the decision that extracurricular subjects should be taken out of the syllabus. To sum up, although non-academic subjects should be eliminated from courses, the study of these subjects would be beneficial for young ones to learn skills like fitness and cooking.