As a part of education, students should spend a period of time living in another country to learn its language and culture. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a well-documented fact that it is advisable for students to live in a foreign nation in order to study its language and culture as part of education. From my perspective, I partly agree with the above statement. While learning abroad may be beneficial for learners’ knowledge and development in some cases, I suppose that the aforementioned trend can have considerable shortcomings as well. On the one hand, it is understandable why people encourage students to study overseas for a period of time. The key rationale is they are given the opportunity to approach modern education in developed countries. Many nations are popular for their education systems such as Australia, Canada or Sweden, where they have professional teachers and hi-tech school facilities which can provide youngsters with a nearly perfect learning experience. This is a powerful testament to the reason why learners are highly recommended to join in these education settings not only to expand their knowledge about languages but also the nations’ culture and custom, especially when cultural integration has happened worldwide. Therefore, it seems sensible for the general public to advise students on spending time living in other countries. On the other hand, staying in a strange nation may also bring some drawbacks for students. It is apparent that getting used to the living pace of foreigners is challenging. Consequently, students may experience homesickness and, especially, cultural shock which is likely to affect their mental health negatively. Another worth-noting point is the amount of budget needed for a student to stay overseas is quite expensive. Perhaps, learners only opt for living in a short period of time, many extra fees may suddenly occur to cause a burden on students ’ finances who at that time can only rely on parental or other external support. Generally, the idea of staying in a different nation may be disadvantageous in some cases. In conclusion, although studying a foreign language and culture is not without its certain compelling arguments, I would contend that the issues of cultural shock and finance should also be thoroughly considered.