the most important aim science should be to improve peoples lives. to what extent do you agree or disagree with this statment?

It is undeniable that science is a powerful tool that can alter our reality in ways that were once unimaginable. While Some people, including myself, believe that the ultimate goal of science should be to improve people ’s lives, others may argue that science has other goals that are equally or more important. First of all, it is wise to allocate limited resources and mitigate their usage to serve humanity. This is because science essentially aims at promoting progress for humans and other living beings. Medical research, for instance, has led to the development of life-saving treatments and cures for many diseases, which has improved the quality of life for millions of people. If, in contrast, the aim of science is merely pursuing advanced knowledge out of curiosity rather than targeting human welfare, there would be a serious shortage of natural and financial resources devoted to the prosperity of human race, as they will be wasted on scientific breakthroughs of exploring the unknown. Furthermore, technology is the application of scientific knowledge to improve people's lives. In other words, the usage of computer systems and the internet is currently indispensable for diverse aspects, for instance, online learning, university enrollment and even online shopping. If, in contrast, technology is used exclusively for entertainment purposes that might be distracting for learners and workers. Consequently, if people are using technology for the benefit of entertainment rather than improving their lives they may encounter detrimental impacts and be less and be less productive. In conclusion, despite there may be other goals of science such as advancing knowledge to explore the unknown and entertainment purposes, it is my firm belief that refining individuals' lives should undoubtedly be one of the most vital aims.