Some parents believe that their children should do extra-curricular activities after school. Others say in this way children are under pressure. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Although many people are convinced that once the school day is done, students ought to have extracurricular activities, a considerable number of people think it will only give the children more stress. In my view, I believe that giving the children more tasks beyond their school work will let them learn time management and responsibility. On the one hand, some people think that having extra activities will help in increasing their self-management abilities, and I agree. In other words, by giving the child the opportunity to choose the type of extracurricular activities, this will increase their confidence and will build a sense of responsibility for the commitment they made. If, for example, the students prefer to learn to play chess after school, it will force the child to learn how to manage and work under stress and will give them a point of view of the work environment in the future. On the other hand, people also believe extracurricular activities are a restrainer more than an advantage to children. For instance, if the child is having a class to learn chess after school every day, this will limit their resting time during the day, taking into consideration the school homework and tests. Furthermore, this will also reduce their socialising time, as they will not have many hours to spend time with their friends or schoolmates. Thus, will increase their stress and they will have issues with others. To sum up, while people may vary in their opinions, I think that if extracurricular activities were added to children's schedules with reasonable weekly hours, this could benefit them in the present, and also in their future work life