The obesity rate among teenagers has increased dramatically in many developed countries. discuss some possible reasons for this problem and suggest solutions

The obesity rate among teenagers has increased dramatically in many developed countries. discuss some possible reasons for this problem and suggest solutions Today a trend is seen that the average weight of young people in Western countries is increasing. The purpose of this essay is to present some of the possible reasons for this occurrence and propose some solutions. There is no doubt that obesity is something we should worry about. While some might say that kilograms are just a number and people can be healthy at any size, studies show that increased body weight leads to many health problems. For example, increased risk of high blood pressure, a heart attack, stroke, joint immobility etc. It is a very well-known fact that being in good physical shape plays a critical role in living a longer life. It is my belief that this lack of exercise in more developed countries, where citizens do not even have the need to go out and walk, is the leading cause of the increasing obesity rates. Another problem is the food we consume. It is easier than ever to eat highly processed foods that are also high in calories. Therefore, many folks decide to eat what is tasty but not what is healthy. That is something I see quite often. Students do not have the time or ability to prepare themselves food for school and make the choice to buy something unhealthy from the story to eat in between classes. In my opinion, the solution to both of the mentioned problems is self-discipline. By understanding what our decisions lead to we can make the choice to live a healthier lifestyle, which includes some form of physical activity and eating more foods like fruits and vegetables. In conclusion, it is our decision to make if we want to risk our own lives for the sake of comfort or take matters into our own hands and make a positive change by rejecting our current unhealthy lifestyle.