Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Plenty of health problems are thought to be caused by the high levels of sugar that numerous manufactured food and drink products contain. To counter this issue it is suggested that sugary products should be increased in price to motivate people to consume lower amounts of glucose. I agree that the consumption of great volumes of sugar could lead to health-related problems; however, I don't think that growth in price could help. Most of the population are sugar addicts, so the incline in the cost of products will probably have little to no impact on their lives, as they most definitely will just accept the rise and simply increase their budget for sweet foods and drinks. The general public is known to lack self-discipline, and sooner or later people would just go back to the consumption of the same levels if not higher ones. The manufacturing industry will be heavily affected by that because even if the price goes up, the number of sales won't necessarily stay the same, which means that there will be a noticeable decrease in those numbers. Some factories probably be forced to close down, which will affect many workplaces in those areas, as production buildings are often located in remote places. On the other hand, to make this idea actually work we need to prepare a range of alternative goods for the consumers to purchase at lower prices, respectively. Such analogues could be presented with artificial sugar or products that will have much less sugar or none at all. Aside from that, the risks of consumption of products that contain high glucose levels should be discussed in the media. To sum up, we can not solve those problems corresponding to the health of our population if we do not discuss them or provide alternatives people could choose from.