Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what exyent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, numerous languages have disappeared in the world. While some people say that fewer languages lead to an easier life. In my opinion, the disadvantages of language extinction outweigh the advantages. On the one hand, life might become convenient if all of the people speak the same language. Firstly, The governments of countries that have considerable populations set up official languages to promote the policy easily. For example, although China is a multicultural country, Chinese teachers merely need to teach lessons in their official language, Mandarin, in the school. Secondly, lawmakers don’t need to set up laws in numerous languages since most of the citizens speak the same language. Finally, people who have different races can cultivate a sense of belonging and unity of the nation. On the other hand, language is linked with the culture. The various languages symbolize the diversity of the culture. The extinction of any languages results in the disappearance of their culture. Humans would feel disoriented if we lost our culture, the history of our races and the memories of our ancestors. For instance, in Taiwan, people often name cities because of certain historical events. Furthermore, if people around the globe all speak a single language, the world will become boring and dull. We like to establish connections and contact because every individual has different experiences. If we all speak the same language, we will not only lose the diversity of languages but also lose the fascinating chances of exchanging our differences. To sum up, although it is necessary for big countries to unify their language to consolidate national power, we should still keep the diversity of languages in order to protect our culture and history. According to the reason above, I disagree with the saying “several languages die out is not important.”