Advertisements are becoming more and more common in our daily lives. Is it a positive or negative development?

Reading magazines, watching TV, or walking on the street, the appearance of advertisements is too familiar for us to notice that every part of our lives were filled with them. The pros and cons of the increment of this promotion have created different opinions on whether it should be supported or opposed, but in my point of view, advertising is both positive and negative. On the one hand, advertisements play a major role for both customers and businesses. First of all, promoting can raise awareness of a product or even a company. In general, most advertisements usually leave an impression in the consumer's mind about the brand instead of an immediate purchase decision which not only helps buyers make better settlements in the future but also enhances credibility and maintains the relationship between the brand and customers. For instance, when you see a fast food advertisement, you might not order it right away, but a few hours later when your stomach starts growling, you may search for that restaurant, this way, you can prevent purchasing fecklessly and if the meal was good, the place also gains a potential customer. In addition, the development of advertisements requires abundant human resources which means increased job opportunities. However, as everything in life has its own polar opposite, this situation also leaves negative effects. To begin, advertisements often use psychological effects like “Now Or Never", limited vouchers or special offers that generate a sense of urgency in the minds of people to create irresistible desire to buy unessential things. They also lead to misrepresentation to compete with their competitors by giving poor quality products instead of the one customers saw on TV. As for business, overuse advertisements can cause a waste of money that is rather used for investing in research and development. In conclusion, the rise of modern advertising in our society places an important position in commerce but it also has adverse impacts.