It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environments, such as the South Pole. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is observed that researchers and visitors are now able to travel to distant isolated areas. There are two major positive effects to this including collecting materials that are vital for research and adding more places to visitors' travelling lists, I am of the opinion that the drawbacks consisting of a rise in pollution and an adverse bearing on indigenous residents will be likely more significant. On the one hand, travelling to remote destinations can bring certain benefits. Chief of these is that these isolated places might have more materials which are crucial for research. By travelling to these sites, scientists are enabled to gain access to an enormous amount of information such as geographical structures, unique species and climate patterns. Therefore, they can have a deeper insight into the natural landscape of these destinations which have been rarely visited by humans. To illustrate, a recent study by Doctor Luke Trusel has revealed that the reason for the increase in sea levels is due to the ice caps melting in the Arctic. Moreover, exploring untouched space can help travellers add more places to their travelling lists. In fact, going to well-known cities and countries is common for most people, so it might be more exciting and appealing for tourists to explore more secluded ranges such as the Arctic or the Kiribati islands. Hence, travelling to these regions can give them valuable experiences and unforgettable memories. On the other hand, I firmly believe that the downsides of visiting less explored lands can overshadow the positive aspects. The first one is that travelling to these regions can cause a rise in pollution. Given the fact that many popular attractions are already polluted with tourists’ waste, it is readily apparent that nothing can make sure this will not happen again to newly-discovered areas. For instance, the Amazon rainforest used to be lush and verdant, however owing to the development of tourism, more waste such as bottles or nylon bags has been released into the environment; thereby, the Amazon rainforest is more likely to be destroyed. Furthermore, other activities might have an adverse bearing on indigenous residents. When pollution is increasingly prevalent in these zones, it can breed poor sanitation, which affects locals’ health. Consequently, it can facilitate diseases to spread among local inhabitants. In conclusion, while visiting faraway lands can bring new materials for research and expand people’s travelling lists; I suppose that this tendency can be detrimental due to the rise of pollution and the undesirable effects on local people.