Violence and crime have increased in most major cities of the world. Some people say this is because children now play violent video games online. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Nowadays, most major cities around the globe suffer from the increasing violence and crime rates. While some people indicate that the prevalence of violent video games leads to children's violent tendencies. I believe there is no direct link between both of them. On the one hand, some people blame children for having violent tendencies because they are addicted to video games. And those violent children would become criminals in the future. However, children who show aggressive personalities likely suffer from difficulties in regulating their emotions. There are several possible reasons. Firstly, their parent might not spend enough time to accompany their children. Some lonely children will use improper methods to gain their parent’s attention. Adults should teach the younger generation how to ease their anxiety and regulate their motions instead of simply criticizing their behaviour. On the other hand, violent video games have several prospects. I believe it is a blessing rather than a curse. In most violent online video games, violence is not their majority element. If video games merely involve violent fights, there are no impossibility for them to become so popular. There might be exciting adventures and fascinating storyline in it. Most online video games are equipped with chatting functions, and some children meet online friends and establish their friendships through playing the games. They play different characters in the fight and learn how to cooperate through the numerous adventures. However, if children show an addition to video games, parents should teach them time management instead of forcing them to leave their computers. Children who grow up with good parenting would not lead to violent personalities even if they enjoy playing video games. To sum up, everything has two sides and violent video games are no exception. Spending too much time on them could cause negative development but there are still advantages involved. And there is no direct link between the increasing crime rates and the popularity of violent video games.