With the rapid development of communication technology such as smartphones, tablets and other mobile devices, some people believe that the disadvantages of these devices outweigh the advantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that even though technological tools made our lives easier, their disadvantages are more compared to the benefits for mankind. I completely agree with the given statement and I believe that it is dangerous for humans to spend so much time on these technological devices. First of all, nowadays people spend so much time on social media platforms such as Instagram and Twitter. Therefore, they tend to look at digital screens for long hours. I believe that this situation led people to face some health problems. For instance, during the COVID-19 quarantine, many people applied to health institutions complaining about their eyesight since they had to do everything online and look at the screen for a long time. Many of those people damaged their eyesight permanently. Secondly, spending so much time on social media has destroyed people ’s ability to focus and think deeply. Nowadays, younger people who like to use technology are having trouble studying long hours without the urge to check social media. Moreover, short videos on different platforms such as TikTok and YouTube adopted humans’ brains not to focus on something longer. Additionally, it is scientifically proven that folks who waste their time by looking at these short videos are not capable of thinking deeply and they need to stop watching these videos to gain this important skill again. Another reason is that these devices prevent people from socializing with their friends and families. For example, many elderly people complain about young people playing video games so much and spending less time outdoors. This situation weakens the bounds between the young and old. In conclusion, I strongly believe that although modern technology brought so many advantages into our lives, its harm outweighs its benefits