Some countries are struggling with an increase in the rate of crime. Some believe that having more police on the streets is the best way to reduce and combat crime. To what extent do you agree?

These days, when the rise of illegal activities tends to grow in numerous nations, citizens are likely to live in an unsafe society. Hence, some individuals argue that to cut down on this situation, the government should allocate more police in a wide range of towns and roads. However, I firmly believe that having more police is not only the key to addressing the problem of lawlessness as we can apply other solutions to ensure the safety of locals. In this essay, I will give a number of reasons with specific evidence to analyze this topic. To begin with, having policemen on the road has several pros because this measure not only assists in catching criminals in time but also makes them afraid and thus less likely to commit crimes. In detail, when some people are doing illegal acts and are caught by the citizens, they will contact the nearby detective consequently as they can come immediately. Furthermore, the presence of many police officers on the road also contributes to making locals feel more secure as criminals are also terrified and do not dare to act since they are always liable to be discovered, thereby reducing the crime rate. Therefore, additional law enforcement by more detectives on the streets may deter infractions and provide people with a sense of security. In addition to having several police officers patrol the streets, there are still numerous alternative tactics that are merely as successful in apprehending criminals, such as placing camcorders everywhere. For instance, when illegal activity occurs, surveillance cameras act as eyes that can monitor it everywhere, allowing the authorities to respond swiftly and effectively to make an arrest. What’s more, they may use CCTV cameras as a tool to trace down the locations that offenders have gone to in order to determine their present whereabouts even after they have lost sight of them. Besides, locals should also arm themselves with defensive weapons like pepper spray or study more martial arts in case the police do not arrive in time to defend them. In brief, the task of seeking thieves will be made simpler by installing more surveillance camera equipment and by having greater public assistance. To sum up, sometimes it's not the best strategy to have a plethora of policemen on the roadway to apprehend offenders. We can take advantage of the method of installing surveillance camcorders and the proactive help of the people to make it easier to catch the bad guys. Finally, when combined, all the aforementioned actions will result in a sharp decline in infractions, improving the quality and safety of our lives.