Genetic engineering is a key issue in modern society. Some people think that it will improve people’s lives in many ways. Others feel that it may be a threat to life on earth.Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The advancement in technologies and sciences has led us to a world where genetic engineering plays a part. For example, various kinds of fruits have been genetically modified which resulted in better taste and appearance of that particular fruits. Some people argue that this trend may be beneficial to people's lives, whereas the opponents suggest that it could be a threat to nature. In this essay, I will discuss what I believe to be the benefits and disadvantages of genetic engineering, and present reasons why I tend to agree that genetic modification sciences will significantly improve our lives. To begin with, the opponents of genetic engineering argue that this trend may pose a danger to humans living on Earth for several reasons. First, the modification of the genetic material of a species is a relatively new finding, that has not been proven to be adequately safe for the long term. Furthermore, research on these areas is likely to involve various species of flora and fauna which may lead to harmful effects on these species. On the other hand, while it is true that we can not predict what may happen in the future, I believe that genetic engineering will continue to play a crucial part in improving the quality of life in modern society. To illustrate, in the past decades, Indonesian farmers have been struggling to produce crops with better qualities and quantities. However, with genetically modified crops, these days we can have a much more variety of crops such as fruits with a better taste and bigger size. For example, when I was a child I could only find red watermelon, but now there are different kinds and colours of watermelon. On top of that, with genetic engineering science, we will likely be able to combat hunger and poverty in many parts of the world. Crops like rice and wheat that were previously vulnerable to pests, now become more pest-resistant. In conclusion, genetic engineering has played an important role in improving our lives. In my view, it has little possibility of causing a threat to people's lives on Earth in the future.