In recent years, the rise of ebooks causes the decline in paper books. Some people argue this is a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Over the last two or three decades the way people read books has changed dramatically due to major advancements in technology. Some people believe that the replacement of printed work with electronic books is a good development while others oppose this point of view. In this essay, I will explore the pros and cons of change and try to draw some conclusions. I will start by looking at the advantages. One of the major advantages of using ebooks is the reduction in the cutting of trees as a significant number of plants are used to make publications every year. Moreover, physical novels are difficult to preserve and they need to be upgraded and maintained after a particular time while there are fewer chances of any damage to ebooks because they are saved in an electronic form and can be modified very easily. On the other hand, there are some drawbacks to using electronic books. Firstly, it is strenuous to read a book from electronic devices as it is not as comfortable as reading a book while holding hands. In addition, one can be bored very easily while studying from a computer or smartphone because it becomes hard to focus while traveling whereas in the case of books, one can easily pay attention and enjoy the journey. To conclude, the popularity of digital books has impacted paper volume positively as well as negatively. Though It has reduced the cost used for the maintenance and printing of books after a fixed time, it has made the learning process very difficult and tricky.