In your opinion, should young people choose their profession or should their parents choose for them? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Most parents believe that they know what is best for their progeny because of their experience with life. Although they have good intentions, their choice of career for their heir might not be ideal and,in fact, might make their kids feel stuck or caged.I think that offspring should be free to choose their own career path. Parents generally want their scion to avoid the blunders that they have committed during their lives but they tend to forget that with changing times, mistakes made by young people also change. Their intention to protect their young ends up suffocating them instead. For example, a few decades ago, being an engineer in an Indian family meant financial comfort and stability but now times have changed evidently and more than fifty per cent of engineering graduates are jobless. Had these youngsters chosen a profession that they were passionate about, it is likely that they would be happier. Many would argue that offspring do not have a worldview and their innocence would lead to making the wrong decision. This is untrue as schools today offer many elective options that open the minds of children to various possibilities. Although youngsters may be naive, as a parent, little time can be invested in understanding their choice and indulging in research about the selected field. This simple action would heighten the trust of the progeny towards their progenitors and would encourage children to perform more research and interact with individuals in the selected field before making their final decision. In conclusion, I think that offspring are perfectly capable of choosing their own professional path. Allowing them to understand various facets of the field would make them better prepared for employment which leads to increased happiness and thus success. Parents, although well-wishers, must refrain from making the child's decision for them.