Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

One of the social concerns today relates to the purpose of university education. While it is commonly suggested that the main goal of studying at university is to get better jobs, others believe that a university education gives many more benefits for individuals and society than just getting a better job. In my opinion, I strongly believe that a university education not only helps graduates get a better job, but also gives students more benefits. On the one hand, it is argued that the aim of university education is only to get better jobs. The main reason is that in university the students spend most of their time learning knowledge and skills that will apply in their future jobs. It is also possible to say that a university education gives graduates a key to open their future careers. One good illustration of this is to be doctors they have to study in university. Another reason is that the graduates have more opportunities and networks for their work. For example, there are many universities that coordinate with companies that can hire their employees from the universities. On the other hand, it is strongly believed by others that university education can offer graduates more benefits than just getting a better job. People often have this opinion because they can see the personal growth, and social responsibility in the graduates and these benefits are so important for each individual and society. A second point is that university education is good for economic development. A particularly good example here is that people can earn money from services for the study of students. In conclusion, it is commonly thought that the purpose of a university education is to help graduates get better jobs; meanwhile, others assume that there are many benefits that that graduates can have when they study at university. Personally, I tend to believe that a university education not only helps graduates get a better job but also helps graduates gain many benefits.