In some countries, small town-center shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

Nowadays in some countries, small-scale shops in the centre of cities due to the lack of clients are going to be closed. While I understand the advantages of this trend, I believe that the disadvantages of this issue outweigh its progress. Due to the price of houses in the centre and downtown of cities around the world, most people are going to rent or buy houses in the suburbs which are fairly cheap. As a result, there is a huge need for stores in the suburbs of cities and large shops can answer this demand with suitable prices. Also, another benefit of large-scale shops like malls is that they have almost anything in their store and provide a wide range of variety for customers. For example, it is common to hear that something is unavailable in the town centre shops and they address customers to the out-of-town shops. On the other hand, there are two main reasons why I disapproved the transfer of stores to the out of towns. Firstly, as mentioned above this trend causes people who live in the centre of cities, to spend a lot of time in their cars to reach the out-of-town stores. This can disturb the flow of cars and probably create heavy traffic in that specific region. Secondly, if all the people of a city have to visit shops outside the city for shopping, Shops outside the city get into trouble. They can not provide services to all of the people, so it is necessary to build other malls and parking there, which need a lot of money and gradually it causes the advantage of the cheapness of goods to disappear. To sum up, in my,opinion although there are some benefits to people using big shops, it is obvious that their disadvantages are overcome to advantages.