In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not to build new homes there. What is your opinion about this ?

As a result of growth in the world's population, the requirement for houses also has simultaneously increased. However, the bottleneck in facilitating this need is the unavailability of sufficient land extent. Therefore, the available next best option would be to move residence areas to the countryside. Nonetheless, people in the viewpoint out that such a decision would harm the surroundings of rural areas, and it is critical to safeguard them. This essay disagrees with this opinion as shelter is a basic need of human beings, and there are many ways to develop housing options without disturbing the environment. Further, there are ample amounts of left aside bare lands in village areas, which could be converted into housing schemes. The new trend for houses is for eco-friendly houses. Because the public prefers to have their homes closer to the environment. Accordingly, housebuilders build houses with the least interruption to the ecosystem. Hence, moving housing schemes to rural areas would attract people and would be less harmful to the environment. Further, modern technological advancements enable to use of environmentally degradable building materials. Furthermore, nowadays the timber requirement has been minimised by using alternative materials such as Aluminum. For example, in Sri Lanka most of the housing schemes have been built with steel structures and recycled materials. Also, such developments could be limited to specific areas to ensure the safety of wildlife and forests. Achieving the equal distribution of resources is one of the key tasks of every society. People clog in cities because of the facilities and ease of life. Also, there are lands in village areas which are not considered for productive use. If such non-cultivated bare lands could be utilised to develop condominiums, the population density in cities would be reduced. As a result of this environmental pollution will be reduced. Furthermore, this would be a very good solution to develop the countryside by increasing the contribution to the national economy. For instance, this is the methodology followed by many countries like Canada and Australia, where they offer visas for skilled people of other countries to have residence in their rural areas. In conclusion, it is mandatory to have proper solutions for the growing need for shelter. Rather than trying to increase population density in cities, developing residence areas in rural areas would be the solution. Because, with the support of new technology houses could be built with the least disturbance to nature. Such an initiative would support society's development too.