In some countries, companies allow people to work from home. In others, people are still expected to work in an office. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Currently, organisations are permitting their workers to complete their duties from home in a number of nations, whereas physical presence at the workplace is needed in other countries. In my view of thinking, a work-from-home policy saves expenses regarding many factors for employees as well as employers. However, there are some regions where office hours are compulsory, and these are difficult to make flexible. On the one hand, due to the Covid outbreak, the whole world has undergone massive changes in employment policies. Consequently, flexible duty hours and the choice of completing one own task from the house started gaining popularity. Furthermore, companies and their staff found such a facility very convenient in terms of saving dollars. Particularly, these working conditions are cost-effective for transport, infrastructure, electricity, internet etc. and millions could get saved every month. Many software companies in Pune, for instance, have reduced their expenses by more than 80% by applying work from home for their staff permanently, and other industries are planning on implementing the hybrid model of adjustable labour timings. On the other hand, there are some developing countries in which employees are unskilled and need to be trained by experts. In such sectors, an individual must be there at the factory to learn the company process as well as to perform his daily tasks. Moreover, there are some factory machines that are not functionable without human intervention like textile, sugar, dairy and many other product domain companies. In other words, an adjustable manhour or a duty from home is not permissible in many cases and labourers must attend an office in order to fulfil their job responsibilities. For example, during the Corona lockdown, we saw a huge unemployment issue in the country mostly due to the closure of factories involved in product supply. To conclude, the definition of the workplace has changed over time, and nowadays, performing an office task from our living room is an acceptable practice by a large part of the business sector. In contrast, there are certain areas of employment where the above policy is not useful and people are still expected to work on organisation premises.