In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

The issue of whether students who finish their high school do some work or go abroad for one year before their tertiary level has grown in importance over the past few decades. While there are some disadvantages associated with this idea, I believe the main advantages are more substantial. On the plus side, the young adults who get involved with work or travel to other places are more likely to be a jack of all trades and more gregarious. Moreover, these young people are more independent compared with their peers who go directly from school to university, and have a broadened view of life and better personal experiences. For example, they will learn to be committed and dedicated to a job and accomplish their tasks which are of paramount importance factors in academic study and research. Therefore, they are able to expand their horizons, as well as develop their social skills. Having said that, there are some dangers in taking off at that important age. Young people may end up never returning to their studies or finding it difficult to readapt to an academic environment. For instance, they may think that it is better to pursue a career or try something completely different from a university course. However, I think this is less likely to happen these days and the benefits of doing that are far more than the drawbacks. In conclusion, I think the young generation should be encouraged to broaden their perspective and learn to stand on their own feet. At this age, they are in the prime of their life and taking a year off may be the best way to be more effective and motivated.