Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past 30 years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam’. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Over the last thirty years, cars have become more affordable and accessible to the middle class of society. With this rapid increase in ownership over time, many cities have suffered from frequent traffic jams caused by several conjunctions of cars filling up the road. Currently, this is a major problem here in Vietnam, which is why this statement is incredibly true. I will further elaborate and clip a hypothetical solution to this essay. To begin, the average size of a car is an estimate of two motorcycles and back then cars were usually reserved for rich people, so traffic mapping for large vehicles like these was never accounted for, which is why when people started buying cars, they were taking up too much space. Because of the high volume of cars on the road, the air is more polluted due to the excessive amount of toxic fumes released by these vehicles. They run on gas, and while electric cars exist to fix that problem nowadays, they are still unaffordable to the common citizen. Therefore, the most hypothetically viable solution that the government can act on now, is to advise the public to limit their car usage in motorcycle-populated areas as an effective measure to reduce traffic tension and air pollution. As a result, this will establish boundaries for both car owners and bikers; creating a safer transport medium between the two parties involved. In conclusion, this method will definitely require full cooperation and a hefty period of time to fully implement. It will be difficult, but the result will benefit greatly in the end.