As computers translate quickly and accurately, learning foreign languages is a waste of time? To what do you agree?

It is undoubtedly true that the life of human beings has become more convenient and simple because of the advancement of technology. Nowadays, each person has their own electronic gadgets such as computers, laptops, tablets, and mobile phones. These devices have inbuilt applications that people use for translation whenever required since they translate rapidly and without any errors. Due to this, it is believed that learning other languages is not necessary since it can waste time. Although modern devices are useful for the above activity, in my opinion, learning international languages is definitely worth it, and it is not a waste of time. There are adequate advantages if people can speak, read, and write multiple languages. To begin with, the primary key benefit is that it enhances their career opportunities. To put it simply, in this globalization era, there is a wide range of job opportunities available in foreign countries, which offer attractive salary packages and other benefits. However, these job positions have a fundamental requirement that candidates should have in-depth knowledge of their languages in addition to the qualifications and experience in a particular field. If a person has a decent command over their languages, they may get a chance to work for multinational organizations, which is certainly rewarding. For example, the Canadian government is absolutely liberal in providing permanent residency and job offers to individuals who have a thorough knowledge of the French language. In addition to this, it helps in expanding the horizons of the masses. In other words, they can communicate with a large number of people who speak different languages, which helps them to learn numerous things such as about their culture, traditions, food, lifestyles, and festivals. By having this much information, of course, they develop interpersonal skills that are not only beneficial to their professional life but also to their personal life. For instance, bilingual people surely have a large friend network, and they can also get a chance to celebrate a wide range of festivals with those friends. By communicating and spending time with different people, they can learn to observe the same thing with distinct perspectives. Indeed, the latest machines have abilities to provide up-to-date information, and people can rely on them to translate sentences when needed. Nonetheless, they cannot provide benefits to the people, which are provided by the person’s language skills. In conclusion, in spite of computers and other digital devices being used for translation purposes, people ought to learn international languages if they get a chance because of their number of merits. Hence, I would argue that it is not a waste of time.