Some believe that installing CCTVs in high crime areas will help to reduce crime. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Many people believe that using CCTVs to monitor city streets has many benefits because it has been shown to reduce crimes, whereas many large cities have had mixed results after using these devices. Therefore, it is clear that people may have diverse ideas about this issue. To begin with, installing CCTV cameras can have many good effects on society because CCTVs are used in many cities as a method of crime prevention. It is commonly known that the cameras have been effective at catching criminals after a crime has been committed. For example, police officers report that CCTVs allow them to monitor high-crime areas more efficiently. In addition, the videos can be used in court as evidence. In the United States, video evidence of CCTVs has been used to investigate car accidents. This shows that CCTVs can help identify criminals or monitor streets in case something happens. Therefore, it is evident that installing cameras to monitor streets is a good idea. However, some people assert that the disadvantages of this outweigh the benefits. This is because they believe that the government may use the cameras to spy on citizens in their everyday lives. Many experts believe that, since there are no laws to stop the government from spying on people, citizens cannot trust the government to use the cameras responsibly. In some cases, the video footage has been uploaded on the Internet, and this has had negative effects on people ’s privacy. Therefore, it is apparent that the government needs to consider many factors before it decides whether installing CCTV would have positive effects on society. To sum up, it is clear that there are many advantages for society if CCTVs are installed on the streets. However, there are also significant drawbacks because the cameras would be easy to misuse