Plastic shopping bags are used widely and cause many environmental problems. Some people say they should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people dispute that since the widespread use of plastic shopping bags has led to various environmental complications, they should be restricted. In this essay, I will argue that these bags ought to be prohibited as plastic containers have resulted in land and sea pollution in addition to provoking threats to wildlife species. One of the main arguments in favour of banning plastic bags for shopping is that because of their non-composted nature, they would remain in the environment for a life span of over a thousand years and cause pollution all over the environment. For instance, many NGOs, who are attempting to fundraise over the initiative to clean important sites reported that the majority of garbage that our volunteers collect is of plastic materials most of which are shopping bags. Hence, the use of these materials should be cut due to their long durability which triggers vast pollution. On the other hand, these containers are the prime contributors to wildlife extinction. The reason for this is that plastic is an obscure element spread all around the field. Animals unintentionally eat or stuck in plastic substances which eventually leads to their demise. Take Pelikans, for example, which are now an endangered species, particularly as a result of widespread plastic materials thrown into their habitat. The more these substances exist in wildlife habitats, the more the risk of animal extinction. In conclusion, I would argue that despite their apparent practicality, the consumption of plastic shopping bags should be prohibited by governments on the grounds that they are the leading cause of environmental pollution as well as being a hazard to wildlife.