Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is being considered that the advertising power is the reason behind the popular goods sales in the present but not the actual requirement of society. I strongly agree with this opinion,and I will explain my opinion in the upcoming paragraphs. To begin with, advertising technology has been developing so as to technological advancement. In other words, the technology has been developed and it is able to reach its customers over various platforms. Thus, advertisement is not to be confined to television and banners. For example, the general population are using a wide range of social media platforms such as Facebook, Instagram or YouTube on their smartphones and companies are taking this opportunity to show advertisements to them. Therefore, technology has played a very primary role in attracting buyers to advertisements. On the other hand, many young generations follow popular celebrities as their role models, and celebrities serve as positive role models in introducing products. For example, people are almost attracted to any goods that famous people refer to as the secret behind their health or beauty. Consequently, when a young person watches his or her desired reputable individual who is consuming a special kind of thing, they will be most likely to purchase that one, even if it is not the real need just because of their celebrity endorsement. In conclusion, even though advertisements can promote unnecessary consumption, state-of-the-art technologies and media and also popular and famous people can convince customers to be fascinated by advertisements and purchase those products even if they do not need them really.