Some people believe that universities students should specialise in a particular subject while others believe that they should study a range of subjects. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, it is common to see undergraduates who choose to study a course that involves variety of subjects. While this may be true for some people, I believe that it is more beneficial for a student if he focuses on one particular field. On the one hand, people usually improve their critical thinking skills when they study a mixture of subjects. To be more precise, if a person learns about a variety of subjects, he can increase his worldview. Consequently, a person is capable of judging a conflicting situation from different perspectives, and a person can come up with a solution that satisfies both sides of a conflict. For example, it is believed by many people that China wants to capture Taiwan because of only political reasons. However, if person has some knowledge in economics, he will understand that China is also motivated by Taiwan's revenues from CPU production. On the other hand, individuals who focus only on one field usually have a higher salary because they are better professionals. When employers look for candidates, they usually search for the ones who have a degree in a required subject. Conversely, the students who studied a variety of subjects are usually rejected due to lack of knowledge. For instance, if a person has a degree in mathematical economics, he may be rejected as a math teacher candidate. It will be because he does not have sufficient qualifications in math despite studying a course that is partially related to mathematics. However, if candidate decided to study only mathematics, he could be promoted to the head of maths department of the school with a higher salary than a regular teacher. In conclusion, I definitely think that it is better if student focuses on one subject due to the higher salary.