Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In this contemporary era, numerous people prefer to be their own boss, rather than working in corporations or big companies. There are a lot of reasons which make this trend attractive; especially to young job seekers. Initially, by being your boss you are free to pursue your own goals and aspirations, instead of struggling to fulfil the company’s expectations, which can sometimes be highly stressful. Moreover, by being self-employed, you can have a chance to work more flexible hours depending on your personal priorities, and not be controlled by a superior observer. Thus, you can feel autonomy and work more peacefully and creatively. For example, as a graphic designer, you can have your own style of working and manifest your art and ambitions in your work as a freelancer, while ordinary designers in organizations should follow the structural instructions and meet a lot of deadlines which is extra pressure and diminishes creativity. On the other hand, this phenomenon can bring about some drawbacks. Firstly, you will not have any medical insurance and you have to pay extra in order to obtain it yourself, which can be costly. Additionally, although having your own little business can boost your freedom and autonomy, it also implies a lot of burdens and pressure, in terms of legal responsibilities and risks that can threaten your job. Furthermore, there are not always proper job opportunities to manage your living costs; hence you have to always be ready to be unemployed for some uncertain days. In conclusion, I believe that this trend is highly popular among people because of two main reasons; firstly, they can follow their own passions rather than corporal ones, and secondly, they can feel independent. It is also noteworthy, that the low job security and the absence of medical insurance are the main disadvantages.