Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

Time is precious, therefore, it shall be occupied in the most productive fashion. This is crucial for children, to have the maximum benefit of their childhood. A segment of the general public believes children should be guided in spending their free time, with properly organised activities. And some assume that kids should be given the opportunity to make their own approach to spending leisure time. This essay emphasises having a balanced opinion on both viewpoints. Child development is vital for every society because they represent the future. Hence, proper guidance will enable them to understand what is good and bad. Also, the way we spend leisure time directly links with the characteristics of a person. Rather than trying to correct them later, providing a clear set of directions is important. However, this shall not restrict their thought processes, as it would harm their creativity. In other words, children should be given the opportunity to make a choice from available programmes. Life experiences give the best learning to any individual. It builds one's personality and confidence. People do lots of things for entertainment, and some are specific to each individual. For example, one would prefer to read books, one would prefer to listen to music, and one would prefer to stay alone. Therefore, developing activities to match each individual's requirements would be a challenging task and never be 100% successful. For instance, such kinds of programmes would create more stress for children than leisure. Nonetheless, children should be looked after to avoid them learning bad habits and unethical practices. Proper guidance would solve this need. In conclusion, the way kids spend their leisure time is an important factor, as that directly links with their character development. Therefore, they shall be monitored to keep them on the right track while allowing them to make their own decisions.