Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugars which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, numerous products are full of sugar, and this can lead to health issues. Some people argue that by making these products less affordable people are discouraged from using more sugary goods. I partly agree with this statement. Putting extra charges on those products that are high in sugar can cut down their usage. Firstly, the government can control people ’s behaviour by increasing fees. In other words, if a person cannot afford to purchase a merchandise, he will refuse to buy that, and consequently, his sugar consumption will decrease. Secondly, by making a product more expensive, its production process will be affected as well. When the demand for a product becomes lower, the producers will not be able to sell their goods. As a result, their business will be damaged, and they should cancel production in order to cut down the costs. To be more specific, the fewer companies produce sugary products, the fewer people can use them. On the other hand, making sugary products more expensive cannot control people ’s demand. When a product becomes a ubiquitous part of individuals’ lives, its cost will not have a great impact on its users. For instance, those who are addicted to smoking cigarettes will continue to smoke even if its costs escalate. The same is true for those products which contain high levels of sugar. Furthermore, in some situations, people will simply look for substitutes despite the fact that the goods become more expensive. If people were forced to cut down their sugar usage by making it less affordable, they would look for something else to keep their habits of using sugar. In conclusion, while many people believe that the behaviour of consumers can be controlled by making manufactured sugary foods more expensive, it cannot reach that goal in some situations.