Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words

It is argued that inculcating competitive spirit is more beneficial for children rather than being cooperative. This is because few believe that sense of competition encourages sportsman spirit, while others deem that children understand more about the importance of team spirit, which I firmly believe too. On the one hand, children get more encouraged to perform better than other by participating in competitions. When they perform in opposite team of their peers, they try to give their best by closely analysing their flaws that brings continuous improvement in them. For instance, most of times, schools organize competitive events for its students to motivate them for working towards their goals, which might also help them to become more determined and find their own ways to enjoy the taste of victory. On the other hand, it is indubitable that when children work in a team, they understand others' sentiments in a better way and also learn about how to show respect towards each and every individual. During group tasks, they may prefer to share their ideas and knowledge with other team members, where the situation in different during individual performances. Moreover, they may also realize that every person is different and acquire distinctive skills. To exemplify, during group activities, children help their friends by sharing resources and ideas that teach them other important skills such as empathy, sympathy and cooperation that would further help them in their lives. In conclusion. I concur that working collaboratively with others offers enormous advantages. As it teaches them other significant skills that no competition or sportsmen spirit can teach.