For all children, the ability to play a musical instrument is just as important the ability to read and write. How far do you agree with this suggestion ? How important is it for you to play a musical intrument, in your view.

A notion has been raised stating that acquiring the ability to play a musical instrument is considered vital for all the young ones and its importance is equivalent to how a child needs to learn to read and write. I disagree with this argument and in this essay, I shall explain why by citing a couple of examples to support the causes including the reason why I believe playing a musical instrument is not as important as reading and writing. To begin with, music is soothing to the soul; it relaxes the body, and consequently, the mind. Music is entertaining by itself and seeing youngsters play them is just as entertaining. There are children who are musically inclined, thus, for them, learning music is like breathing: natural and innate. They are called prodigies and they usually excel in the field of music. Beethoven, for instance, is considered a musical genius where he wrote numerous notes to be played by the orchestra. He even composed songs even when he got deaf. His music brought joy to many individuals even when he had a handicap. But this does not mean that every child who cannot hear are genius in the making. On the other hand, this is a disadvantage for youngsters who have trouble learning an instrument. One factor would be because of how their brain works differently than the former. Despite being taught properly by music instructors, these particular groups of children just naturally deny music per se. It is not their fault, however; it is just human nature. Tonedeaf individuals, for example, listen to music, and although in their heads they know the beat and the tune, the sound that comes out might be different when they start playing. If this is a requirement to enter society, tone-deaf children would be viewed negatively and would impact their social status harshly. Furthermore, learning to play a musical instrument is expensive and not all families can afford to send their children to music school. In conclusion, although having the ability to play an instrument is a huge advantage to society, it is not essential to learn one. Having the ability to play such an item is a positive note, however, it is not as important as knowing how to read and write.