Children who start reading earlier in life, perform better later on their school studies. How important are early reading skills in a child's academic performance ? What other preschool factors influence a child's later academic life ?

Education is unquestionably one of the most prevalent and worrying issues in any society, and its management should be taken seriously. Of course, reading is extremely important for the development of the young brain. However, there are far more factors which could have a beneficial impact on a child's achievements. On the one hand, early reading skills definitely play a crucial role in a person's academic performance. To begin with, literature expands horizons and gives an opportunity to receive a lot of difficult information through simple sentences and pictures. Undoubtedly, children who have been reading since their childhood are able to easily focus on a specific topic and pay attention to it for a long period of time, therefore they would be patient enough to keep their concentration during a whole lesson. Moreover, books help to develop critical thinking which is highly important in order to solve some kinds of logical exercises in the future. For instance, hundreds of scientific research have already shown that offspring whose early childhood was full of quality literature are more likely to receive excellent grades at school. On the other hand, there are a number of other preschool options that could influence the academic life of a student. Firstly, it is known that there are hundreds of games that definitely have a beneficial impact on the cognitive functions of the young brain. In other words, many parents appreciate some intellectual activities that encourage their offspring to study effectively. For example, games such as "Monopoly" or "What? Where? When?" actually bring a child some basic knowledge about finances, economics and household, consequently, they would be helpful for young people. Furthermore, discipline is considered to be highly important in order to succeed, therefore parents should also help their children to develop this significant characteristic. Especially, sports could make would-be pupils to be more disciplined through a variety of exciting exercises and missions. To conclude, despite varying opinions, reading skills are one of the best contributions to a pupil's academic life. However, other factors such as developing games and sports should be also used for raising a successful individual.