In a number countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The issue of whether new rail lines should be built or the present ones should be better has grown over the past few decades. In my opinion, it is important to maintain the balance between both approaches, as the evolution of new technology is not a prevention for the enhancement of the existing system. To begin with, the spread of technology and innovation has a massive impact on people’s lives and using cutting-edge technology to construct new railway tracks can be a great advancement for mankind. New railway lines can be equipped with modern equipment. Passengers will benefit from it and they will lose track of time and be less tired during their journey. For example, these modern trains are very fast and this can lead to people spending less time on the roads and also, they have a separate line so as to people will not get stuck in heavy traffic. Moreover, the newest technologies are going to be more eco-friendly and this will have numerous positive effects on the environment. On the other hand, some people live in remote and secluded areas where they do not have access to any tracks and they use other forms of public transport. In addition, as a result of economic recession, some nations are unable to adapt to modern technologies to construct state-of-the-art railway lines. Therefore, they will have to investigate the existing public transportation to avoid them becoming obsolete. In conclusion, I believe that while very fast trains can be excellent means of transportation they will not fit all countries in the world. Therefore, I think governments should do research into the possibility of implementing this way of travelling in their countries since residents will benefit from it through various ways.