Although more and more people read the news on the Internet, newspaper will remain the most important source of news for the majority of people. Do you agree or disagree with that statement?

Recent years have witnessed an increase in the number of people spending their time reading the news on their smartphones. However, it is argued that newspapers are still important to the ways humans approach the news. While I accept that this perception is somewhat justifiable, I believe that they should also change to suit the development of society and community. On the one hand, newspapers could be beneficial to some individuals because of several driving factors. Firstly, the cost of buying a newspaper is quite cheap compared to buying a mobile device with an internet connection to read information online. For example, in Vietnam, a newspaper sells for 0.5 dollars such as The Police, The Young, and The Sport, many times lower than the cost of a local breakfast. Therefore, it is easily accepted as something every day. Secondly, it is perfectly suitable for middle age or older. For instance, you can easily have your elderly neighbours read magazines on their porches, drink a cup of tea, and chat with each other. On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons as to why I am convinced that paper magazines will be less important in modern life. First and foremost, it is very easy to access a huge amount of information from all over the world, with just a phone with an internet connection. This amount of news is simply free, and updated continuously, instead of having to wait at least a day like magazines. Furthermore, the cellphone market is very diverse, with prices suitable for everyone and increasingly easy to use. According to a statistic in The Young publisher, more and more people own smartphones, from young to old, This number is growing by an average of 5% per year in the under 30s and 10% per year in the over 60s. Consequently, more and more people are changing with the flow of time, including their behaviour towards state-of-the-art technology. In conclusion, whilst it is irrefutable that newspapers are of paramount importance to some communities, I would contend that they should also put effort into change to suit the technology advanced as a whole.